Vintage Artisan Bread Bags {les sacs de pain

If thou tastest a crust of bread,

thou tastest all the stars and all the heavens.

                                                               ~Robert Browning

tasteful simplicity

Frequently, the most satisfying meal features a simple loaf of freshly-baked bread.  What says “welcome home” or “I am so glad you are here for dinner” more than the heart-warming aroma of  bread that greets your family and friends at the door? Sharing a freshly-baked loaf of artisan bread is a wonderful and honorable hostess gift, too.

BreadBag3_goldturquoise_0509

what is vintage is fresh

It is the end of a very busy day and I stop at a  favorite shop to visit with my dear friend. Knowing it was a long day, Mi graciously invites My Best Sweetie and me to her home for a serendipitous meal. A quick call home and it is all arranged. The aroma of a home-cooked dinner and fresh-baked bread warmly welcomes us at the door just 20 minutes later.

After a lovely dinner, our creative spirits are refreshed and we start designing in Mi’s well-stocked studio. Her studio is bursting with amazing inspiration–including one of my favorites–vintage millinery and trims. The guys discuss the latest projects in the woodworking shop–they are deep in conversation. 

 BreadBag1_stripe_drawstrings_0509

Mi has a new collection of vintage linens. We start brainstorming projects with the new finds. One thing leads to another…soon the idea of creating bread bags for storing artisan breads or for gift-giving a warm loaf of bread to a friend emerges–les sacs de pain. I think we are inspired by Bob’s artisan bread served during dinner!

BreadBag2_goldturquoise_0509

We select several embroidered and vintage printed linens. I scour the fabulous old-fashioned wood and glass front drawers in a tall, wood cupboard that was re-claimed from a shop in England. The well-organized drawers are filled with millinery from around the world. Dreamy…

BreadBags2_5_0509

Our imagainations are bubbling over with an endless succession of ideas! Soon, two les sacs de pain are created–one is perfect for a baguette and the other a boule loaf. The designs for several other bread bags are laid out ready for assembly on another day. I am reminded of the five-word acceptance speech at the recent Webby Awards given by Biz Stone:  “Creativity is a renewable resource.” Are spirits are renewed with all of our creativity. Do you have those moments when the more you create the more you are inspired?

BreadBag3_stripe_gold_0509

fresh is best

When I bake bread, I hear Mom’s voice saying, “It is only good when it is fresh!” This saying is particulary relevant for artisan breads–crusty breads are best eaten fresh–usually within a day. Breads baked at Rose Cottage usually don’t last beyond 24 hours!

Often, we bake several loaves of bread at one time so that we can share with others. It gives us great joy to bring a still-warm crusty loaf as a “thank you” for dinner hosts or to share a loaf with a neighbor or two. What fun it will be to share some fresh artisan bread with another in one of the vintage les sacs de pain like the ones Mi and I made!

No matter how large or small it is, sharing is one way that helps to create a beautiful life at Rose Cottage. How do you create a beautiful life? For more ideas about creating a beautiful life, visit The Inspired Room.

Don’t miss all the fun! Julia is hosting a hooked on Fridays post party — visit Hooked on Houses.

BreadBag6_millinery_0509

(Thanks, Mi, for sharing the photos!)
What is your favorite kind of bread that makes you feel like you are tasting “all the stars?”

19 Comments

Filed under baking, Cooking, Homekeeping, Sewing

19 responses to “Vintage Artisan Bread Bags {les sacs de pain

  1. So gorgeous! If I could get one §:-))

    Have a blessed day.

  2. Edie

    Good Morning to My Bestest Sister~
    What a lovely post and the pictures sure capture the aroma of the bread – On, I do believe my favorite is your Swedish bread!

    It is a lovely day in the neighborhood and I plan to enjoy every miute — at least after 3:00 when I am done with work!

    Love,
    Edie

    • debbykay

      Chie and Liz–

      Thanks for your encouragement and kind words! I hope you come by Rose Cottage again for a little visit.

      Great idea, Liz, to use the bags for salad. I have not heard of that before. Thanks for sharing your idea!

      Edie,

      I am so glad you love the Swedish bread! It is one of my favorites to make (and eat with some good unsalted butter!). I hope you enjoy this lovely weekend!

  3. Liz

    Oh wow, what a fabulous idea. I’ve never seen them before although I’ve heard people using a similar idea for salad. They are so pretty!

  4. Those are amazingly beautiful. I just ordered some vintage embroidery patterns that I plan to work on while vacationing. I look forward to unchaining myself from the sewing machine and getting back to some handwork.

    And, homemade challah bread is my idea of perfection. I only make it once in a while, but the buttery, eggy bread is a real treat. And, it’s beautiful to look at since you braid the loaf.

    • debbykay

      Hi Tracy,

      Thank you for your kind words! What fun to to go on vacation to feel refreshed and to create in different ways!

      Agreed! Challah bread is gorgeous! Tasty, too!

      Happy stitching~

  5. Oh these are smashing !!!! Clarice

  6. What a great idea for leftover linens! I love the idea of using these as little bags for gifting bread!

    • debbykay

      Hi Adrienne,

      Thanks for your visit! The bags could be used for any kind of gift-giving…not just bread. Let your imagination rule!

  7. Wow! Sounds like a great way to spend your evening together. Love your bread bags idea, and they turned out so pretty. Mmm! I love all sorts of bread, artisan bread is just delicious, the simple bread and butter is enough to please me.

  8. DebbyKay,

    Just beautiful! I love this idea. I recently saw this on another blog and think these bags would make beautiful Hostess gifts 🙂 I also love Challah bread or Brioche, but I do love making all different varieties of bread. Once I learn how to sew I will be making some of these from my vintage linens 🙂 Thank you for the beautiful inspiration and presentation.

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    ~Sharon

  9. Such gorgeous detail!! Kellie xx

  10. Dear sweet Debbykay,

    Another delightful and inspiring post! The quote is just lovely and the photos are beautiful! I was so happy to read of how your dear friend Mi invited you and your best sweetie to an impromptu dinner! It sounds quite lovely and the perfect antidote to a busy day!

    Mi’s studio sounds so beautiful. I can imagine the wood cupboard from England, the lovely vintage millinery, and the vintage linens to choose from. There is nothing like good food, a dear friend, and a plenty of supplies to help boost our creativity! How wonderful while the two of you were creating such beautiful bread bags the men were enjoying woodworking talk. I am certain the cares of the day were forgotten during this precious time of visiting.

    The bread bags are absolutely gorgeous! I love the printed and embroidered linens, the lace, ribbon and those sweet millinery flowers! You and Mi are both, very talented and creative! I do find the more I create, the more I am inspired. I love those moments!

    Your bread sounds so delicious and I know the recipients of it are most grateful, and now it will be even more special enclosed in a beautiful les sacs de pain that you so lovingly and beautifully made! Thank you for sharing your beautiful life at Rose Cottage. I am always so inspired and blessed by you!

    I found a vintage shaker at the antique store the other day, for just $1! I plan on filling it with lavender and embellishing it with ribbon and vintage millinery, thanks to you dear kindred heart, I knew just what I would do with it!

    I hope you have a lovely beginning to your week! Thank you so much for sharing such beauty, creativity, and inspiration!

    Love your friend,
    Paula

  11. How fanciful and cute! I love what you made with them. I use to bake bread. Haven’t in a long time. But there’s no better smell than bread baking in the oven. That yeasty aroma fills the air with coziness.
    Brenda

  12. Oh, I just love your bread bags! So very pretty. Who wouldn’t want to receive such a lovely gift as that? As they say, two heads are better than one!
    LOL! Have a great week,

    Kitty

  13. Mom

    Dearest Debbykay.
    What a lovely blog and I know how wonderful your breads are – I’ve enjoyed them many times. Sometimes with a cup of your tasty and nutrious soup made with only the freshest ingredients and other times at one of your fabulous dinner parties. Thank you for the sharing the lovely idea of bread bags – how blessed you are to have a dear friend, Mi.

    Love,
    Your Mom.

  14. Francesco

    Debbykay,

    What a great idea for these older yet very serrvicable fabrics. These ideas you present are so unique, it is refreshing to know that such creativity is alive in todays culture.

  15. Thank you for some great ideas, I have lavender and now I see how to craft the wands. The vintage linens I have, well instead of little pillows, I will now have to fashion some bread totes from a few.
    Wonderful blog, inspirational.
    I certainly have enjoyed my visit.

    You have a blessed day,
    Betsy

Leave a comment