Cookies for Santa

Thank you to Rebekah for her guest post below. Follow Rebekah’s adventures at Girl Gets SoCal.

When my brother D was little, he used to sleep under the Christmas tree to wait for Santa. He would fall asleep under the boughs of the tree looking up at the lights and the ornaments, breathing in the heady pine scent.

IMG_2049

I, being the older and wiser sister, would sleep in my own bed under warm flannel since I knew the whole Santa game thankyouverymuch. D never got to see Santa, but the cookies he left out were always eaten and remnants from the carrots set out for the reindeer could be found on the front porch.

This year, D made homemade Oreos to set next to the tree. Christmas morning there were presents under the tree and the milk and cookies left for Santa were almost gone.

IMG_2063

Lucky for us, D shared some of his cookies before we went to bed on Christmas Eve. I am lucky to have a brother that knows how to share his love of Christmas is such a delicious way.

8 Comments

Filed under baking, Christmas, Family

8 responses to “Cookies for Santa

  1. DebbyKay,

    I am so glad I popped by! It’s good to see your blog active. I hope you are doing well 🙂

    Rebekah,

    Thank you for sharing such sweet memories. You brought a smile to my face 🙂

    Have a blessed evening ladies!

    ~Sharon

    • debbykay

      Sharon,

      I am thrilled you stopped the other day! I hope to get around to having a “cup of coffee” and visit with you again soon on your blog!

  2. Thank you Sharon for your lovely comment. Hope you are doing well.

  3. DebbyKay~
    It has been ages since I have been bye to check in and today I see there was something written in Jan. How did that get by me? And dear sweet Sharon has dropped by also. I do hope you will get back to blogging soon, I did so enjoy what you shared!
    Blessings!

    • debbykay

      Dear Sharon,

      Thank you for your lovely comment! I have missed our visits together! I am so glad you stopped by to say “hi” — enjoy this beautiful day!

  4. Susan Schaefer

    Debbykay,
    How wonderful to see your recent blog entry by Rebeka about the wonderful Christmas cookies. Those are special times and special cookies!
    Hope to see more beautiful photos and mind awakening writings too! Hope all is well with you and your “VSS” (very special sweetie).

    • debbykay

      Hi Susan,

      Thanks for stopping by for some fabulous homemade oreos! (By the way, these are terrific!) Your visit brightened my day!

  5. Edie

    Hi Sista~
    I have been really missing you and I hope you are getting your Fibromyalgia undercontrol…. Maybe when the sun comes out ans kisses your cheeks it will help ease the pain!
    Love,
    Edie

Leave a comment