Forget-Me-Not

 Silently, one by one, in the infinite meadows of Heaven,

   Blossom the lovely stars, the forget-me-nots of the angels.

                                                                         ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
 

 

goodbye blue sweetness

The mercury is climbing past the 90 degree mark, and the humidity proclaims it is summertime. My sweet, little blue mouse ears–myosotis–are feeling pale. Whilst firefly fairies dance in celebration of Midsummers, the forget-me-nots scatter their seeds into the rich, black humus beneath them following each cooling breeze. The seeds will lie fallow until the spring rains bring new starry blooms once again.  Yes, it is time to say “au revoir” to the last harbinger of spring at Rose Cottage.

Forget me knot and Heidi

Planted in little clumps by the kitchen entry along the south porch, the little blue flowerettes faithfully send out a cheery greeting as the sun comes up over the river valley each day. The large hosta leaves are protective umbrellas for the sweet spring flowers–allowing them to twirl one last time at the Midsummer’s Eve dance.

Forget me knots 1

We are thrilled the little blue stars have twinkled so long this year. The forget-me-nots have loved their moist, rich soil beneath the cool, shaded refuge of the nearby river birch and Deborah maple.

Forget me knot 3

Each day, the lovely myosotis remind me of  Grandmother. She so enjoyed the minature blue flowerettes growing along the spring-fed waters of Swan Lake.  I cherish all the time spent with her as a young girl at her lake home in the far north, and all the little bouquets picked for Grandmother. Every morning or evening, I pause by the unmistakeable blue starry plants and recall with fondness the gift my Grandmother was to me.

Forget me knots 2

Do certain flowers remind you of the gift of special people in your life?

Midsummer’s Eve is approaching–a time we enjoy for the long daylight hours that extend well into the evening in the north. I think it is time to celebrate the longest day of the season by freshening up several of the window boxes at Rose Cottage… and, giving the sweet blue forget-me-nots another dance!

The root of a forget-me-not caught the drop of water by the hair and sucked her in, that she might become a floweret, and twinkle as brightly as a blue star  on the green firmament of earth.

                                                                                           ~Frederick Wilhelm Carove

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Gardening

8 responses to “Forget-Me-Not

  1. Dear Sweet Debbykay,

    I am always so excited to find a new post from you dear friend! We are such kindred hearts and love the same things. I love the quotes you shared. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow is a favorite of mine! Those little forget-me-nots are so sweet and beautiful! Such dainty, cheerful flowers to adorn your lovely Rose Cottage! They look so lovely nestled amongst your garden angel. How wonderful to have planted them near the hosta, birch and maple for the shade they provide. Your gardens are so beautiful and well planned! I can see the love, care, and time your pour into them, as you do all that you put your hand to. I love to read your lovely writings and your happy memories of your loving grandmother.

    I look forward to seeing what you do with your window boxes. I know they will be so pretty and inspiring.

    Dianthus (pinks) are special to me, as they are my sweet son’s favorite flowers, and when I see them in my garden they remind me of all the memories we have of planting them together in years past… and I hope for many more years to come.

    Thank you for all the beauty and loveliness you share. Thank you for visiting me and for your kind words of friendship and encouragement! I am very blessed by you! I hope you enjoy the warmer weather! That is quite warm for your area, isn’t it?

    With much love from your kindred heart in the south.

    Love, Paula

    P.S. Happy Father’s Day wishes to your husband.

  2. Edie

    Good Morning Sweet Sister of Mine~
    I hope all is well in the Rose Cottage this morning.. I have been in my garden rearranging most of the weekend and did some land scaping!

    It is always so relaxing to stop by the Rose Cottage blog and sip a cup of tea….

    I will stop later to catch up with you…
    Love,
    Edie

  3. rebekahp

    How sweet are those flowers! I think that the blue on those forget-me-nots are one of my favorite colors, especially with the yellow.

    One of my favorite things to do is look outside and see what color combination I love and try to decorate with those same colors indoors.

    Now that it is hot and humid, I am sure that your hydrangeas and roses are exploding! I look forward to future posts on what is blooming at Rose Cottage.

    Love,
    RJ

  4. Francesco

    Debbykay,

    It is sad but true that the seasons march on. We are reminded of that especially at mid- summer. Take heart in that as the forget-me-not gives way to another beauty of creation and the forget-me-not will not forget to return next spring for our enjoyment!!!

  5. Heavens, it is 100 degrees here in the shade! My flowers and plants are doing good to stay alive in this horrific heat! And some just aren’t making it. Those are such pretty flowers.
    Brenda

  6. Dearest Debbykay,

    I am just checking in on you to see if all is well. Hopefully you are just busy with your dear family and lovely Rose Cottage! I miss you kindred heart!
    Love and blessings, Paula

  7. Oh, I love forget me nots. I have them in my garden, as well. They are such a lovely blue, and oh so tiny. When I think of zinnias, I think of my Mother. She planted those in front of our humble home when I was wee little. But, I remember them, all in a row.

    Have a wonderful day
    Kitty

  8. So lovely blue flowers…

Leave a Reply

