Savoring Violets {la partie deux

Hath the pearl less whiteness because of its birth;

Hath the violet less brightness for growing near the earth?

                                                                                                       ~Thomas Moore

second thoughts on day two

What was I thinking when I decided to make jelly using a simple spring flower?  Oh, modest violet–what kind of flavor do your azure blue blossoms impart to a jelly?

Blue Violets close

My taste buds and mind can’t quite grasp the flavor, even though I cook with a lot of fresh herbs and culinary flowers. Is violet jelly a novelty or is it something that I would really serve our guests at Rose Cottage? 

glass basket and violets

jelly making

Yesterday, I spent a fair amount of time preparing for jelly making — picking enough dainty, sweet blossoms (all chemical free!) to nearly fill the English trug, and then removing the blossoms from each stem while struggling against wind gusts. So, I resolve to not give up on making violet jelly. (Read more about getting started on making violet jelly on yesterday’s Savoring Violets post.)

Monet in a Jar

After, 24 hours of “steeping” in the refrigerator, I strain the infusion using a fine mesh strainer into a glass measuring cup . The result is crystal clear light turquoise-colored violet water.

Violet Infusion Before Lemon

One Meyer lemon is squeezed–decidedly, to preserve the gorgeous color and fresh delicate flavor.

Meyer lemons and violets

Next, the juice of the lemon is strained using the fine mesh strainer. The 1/4-cup of lemon juice is added to the turquoise-colored violet water. Viola!

Violet Infusion After Lemon

Look at this! Isn’t it remarkable how the violet water turns to the most gorgeous rose color within seconds after adding the lemon juice?

Then, in a large stainless steel pan, I pour in the rosey violet water and add one box of powdered pectin. The mixture is brought to a boil, and 4-cups of granulated sugar is added. This mixture is brought to a boil again, while stirring constantly. It is kept at a full-rolling boil for one minute, then removed from the heat. One-tablespoon of raspberry liquor is added for an extra depth of flavor; although, this could be entirely optional.

The violet jelly is quickly ladled into sterilized jars and sealed with lids and rings. It is then processed for five-minutes in boiling water bath.

This recipe results in nearly five half-pint jars of beautiful rose-colored jelly.

But how does it taste?

refreshing violets

Now, my dear friends, would you want to know what was that most amazing jelly you just savored along side a sliver of triple cream Brie, fresh-picked raspberries and a still-warm baguette? Or that you just had as accompaniment to your tea and scones? Would you try it if you knew what it was in advance?

You will be absolutely befuddled with the simple brightness and amazing delicateness of the jelly– you will never guess it is the low-growing, sweet violet providing such refreshment!

Oh, yes! My dear sweetie is still swooning over his sampling of the spring nectar from the unassuming violet–you will, too! But, I might not tell you what it is until you are done raving about it and begging me for a jar of the amazing jelly to take home!

Violet Jelly

13 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Gardening

13 responses to “Savoring Violets {la partie deux

  1. I’m sure it was quite a time consuming project, but well worth it: I’d personally love to taste it! I think it would be great to find a way to keep the original violet color, although the deep pink is a lovely color!

    • debbykay

      Yes, isn’t that violet color just lovely? I think if you did not add lemon juice, it would remain the original color. I may try that when I make it again. If you make this, let me know what you decide to do–add the lemon or not.

  2. I am trying this next spring–my violets are fading fast in the heat we are having. 90 + degrees yesterday and today! When did you say you were having me over for tea and a lovely taste of heaven? Oh, well, I can dream… ;-). Have a wonderful day of rest after all that fun.

  3. What an amazing post…I just love how the violet turned to the shade of rose. This seems very time consuming, but I’m so thankful you shared this post with us…I always wanted to make this…I’m so excited..
    Stephenie

  4. Dear Debbykay,

    I enjoyed your lovely written words, and beautiful photos so very much! I love the sweet poem, too. You have such a gift for making others feel loved, welcome and for sharing beauty in all you do! Thank you for sharing your jelly making! Meyer lemons are so wonderful. I love how it turned the violet water to that beautiful rose color! It not only looks beautiful, but sounds so delicious, especially with the menu you shared! I am so glad it turned out well, and that you and your sweetie are enjoying the fruit of your hands!

    What a delight it always is to visit you dear friend! Thank you for sharing your beautiful life, sweet spirit and creativity! Thank you for visiting my cottage, and for your oh so kind and loving words of friendship! It is wonderful that you have your English grandmothers’ teacup. I know you treasure it. Indeed it is something on two opposite ends of the country we would have a match! I look forward to seeing the roses you will add to your lovely Rose Cottage!

    Have a beautiful week!
    With much love and friendship,
    Paula

  5. The Violet Jelly turned out so beautiful! And what a wonder at the color change! I always wonder, who came up with the idea of making violets into jelly? :~O
    I don’t have any violets :~{ but I just left New York State visiting a daughter, and this time of year, her entire yard is nothing but violets! She hates mowing it. I will have to send her here to read about your Violet Jelly. Perhaps she will be inspired!
    Thank you for this delightful post.
    Blessings!

  6. Edie

    My Very Best Sister~
    Oh how I can hardly wait to sample this beautiful jelly!

    What a fabulous idea of the brie and warm bread and berries……..

    These pictures are just fabulous…

    See you Monday
    Love
    Edie

  7. Mom

    An amazing idea resulting in a very pretty jelly! I can only imagine how lovely the taste and fragrance must be. Long after the little violets are no longer blooming at Rose Cottage, you will continue to enjoy them in jelly form — remembering the joy you had in the process. Thank you for sharing your creativeness once again in a gentle and loving way.

    Love,
    Your Mom.

  8. Debbykay,

    I love Violet Jelly! It is so very beautiful and tasty too. I will have to try it with Brie, Raspberries and a warm baguette, that sounds just perfect. I also make Violet Syrup and add that to Lemonade in the Summer time served with Violet and Pansy ice cubes. So pretty and refreshing 🙂

    Your blog is just beautiful. I love your photos and your words 🙂 So sweet! I look forward to paying more visits 🙂

    Thank you for visiting my blog, I do hope you will try the marshmallows, they are so good!

    Have a blessed day!

    ~Sharon

    • debbykay

      What a wonderful idea of adding violet syrup to lemonade! I will have to try that this summer. I think the flavors and fragrances of raspberries and violets really compliment each other, don’t you? What do you think about adding some violet syrup when making raspberry jelly or jam? I might just try that this summer–I’ll write about it in a summer blog. Let me know if you try it, too!

  9. Now violet jelly is about the sweetest thing I ever heard of! I did buy some violet hard candies in France on my last trip, it has a wonderful violetty taste too. We really should market some prettily packaged in Rose Mille!

    • debbykay

      Oh, wouldn’t violet candies be lovely! I can’t wait to try some. I would like to make candied violets (with an egg white and sugar wash). But, I think the warm weather and high winds may have done the violets in for this year. Perhaps, pansies and rose petals…then.

Leave a Reply

