Happy Pansy Faces

The Earth laughs in flowers.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

grandmother’s pansies

pansy-diascia-2

She walks with slow, deliberateness down the curved flagstone steps toward the sweeping gardens in the back of the house. Pausing with nearly every step, she stoops over, laughs and admires the face of each pansy planted around the emerging fern or at the base of the white paper birch. “Did you see this one? It’s face is so sweet with the purple and white colors!”

pansy-purple-and-white

pansy-purple-single1

 

grandmother’s pensée

Joy radiates from her face. She moves down the next step. Excitedly she points to the each pansy with her delicately carved walnut cane. She then turns, smiles and gently asks, “there is a saying that pansies mean thoughts–pensée. See how their faces bend forward like they are really thinking about something? What are you thinking about this morning, my dear one?” 

My little girl voice says, “Nothing really…I guess.”

Grandmother replies, “you know, my dear, it is important to always remember to be thoughtful in all that you say and do.”

She is quiet for a moment, and then softly continues, “my sweet child…come bend down here a little bit closer…look carefully. Do you notice the soft ruffled edges? Now, look at the all the different colors on just one flower. Isn’t it amazing?”

I nod while giving the flower a closer look.

“Look at the shape of the petals. The petals are almost like hearts. Do you know what this little flower is a reminder of?”

I look up at Grandmother’s face.

“With their happy faces and heart-shaped petals, pansies remind you that you are loved, and that I am so happy that you are here!” She gives me a gentle tickle.

I take Grandmother’s hand and laugh, “me, too!”

pansy-dark-purple-striated

 

pansy-dark-pink-striated

“Oh, my Sweet Pea…look how this one looks like it has been hand-painted with watercolors! Can you image anything more beautifully created?” Grandmother lingers a bit longer at these amazing pansies. Then, she sighs deeply, and we look at another and another…still walking hand-in-hand…and laughing as we go down each garden step.

Nearly reaching the last step, Grandmother pauses and smiles, “now…my little darling, I have a special surprise for you! I have saved the best for last. Tucked away over here by corner of the patio are the most beautiful pansies! These are for you to plant anywhere in the garden that you would like! Come! Let me show them to you…”

pansy-coral-ruffled-antique-shades

 

pansy-pink-antique3

 

pansy-pink-yellow

 

grandmother’s legacy

Such a sweet memory of my beloved grandmother. I am thinking of her with deep fondness as the window boxes and planters are potted at Rose Cottage. The window boxes begin overflowing with these happy, cool-weather flowers in antique shades of pinks, mauves, yellows and lavenders. Oh, how cheery! Maybe, our visitors to Rose Cottage will know that we are happy they are here, too!

pansy-pink-yellow-and-viola2

 

pansy-pink-ruffled-antique-shades

The overlapping petals of the sweet pansies are nearly heart-shaped. They remind me of the deep love of my grandmother, and how she so beautifully conveyed her fondness of gardening and flowers to me. Now, I hope that I am passing on this gift of happiness and love to My Most Awesome Boy and My Darling Girl (and her sweet hubby) as they start to plant and cultivate their own gardens.

pansy-daff-viola

 

 Do you think “the earth laughs in flowers?”

 

emerging-daff

 

We are so glad you are here with us at Rose Cottage to laugh and admire the sweet, happy pansy faces! Will you stay for a cup of tea and refresh yourself on the porch? We have your favorite tea cup in the cupboard. . . I will get it for you! Then, you can tell us all about your day…

Oh, weren’t the antique shades of the pansies just gorgeous? The breath-taking pansies are from the fabulous growers and owners of Little Foot Farm and Greenhouse just down the road from Rose Cottage. Karen and Sally are superb growers of garden plants! Wait until you see their tomato plants!

 

pansy-daffs-urn-wicker-21

On this beautiful Earth day, we hope you have time to travel around to other gardens or outside photos at the Southern Daydreamer, too. Maybe, you will even think about planting some sweet pansies or give someone else some sweet pansies to let them know you are thinking of them!

Outdoor Wednesday logo

36 Comments

Filed under Family, Gardening, Uncategorized

36 responses to “Happy Pansy Faces

  1. tberrys

    I stumbled across your page. Beautiful Photo’s you have here. I have just gotten started with my blog page. I must say I have a long ways to go and lots to learn about blogging. Your page an imspiration.

    Blessing to you, from TBerry’s Garden

  2. What a beautiful post! The pansies are so pretty…and such wonderful colors. You have a lovely blog.
    Have a wonderful week,
    Debi

  3. What a great story — I love pansies too– although there season is far too short on the prairie — but I spend money each year for the short enjoyment they give me.

  4. Beautiful pictures. Wonderful memories of your grandmother. Happy Earth Day and Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

  5. those are some of the prettiest pansies i’ve seen in my life! and what a sweet tribute…
    chasity

  6. beautiful one of my mothers favorite flowers

  7. Oh how sweet- Your pictures are beautiful.
    Wouldn’t it be fabulous if everyone could have a garden with such loveliness, I think much of the worlds problems would be better.
    Thanks for sharing- I was inspired today.
    =)

  8. Hi DebbyKay, your pictures are just beautiful!!

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday.

    Barb

  9. Ellen

    Beautiful flowers, sweet memories and gorgeous photography! Happy O.W. to you…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2009/04/21/outdoor-wednesday-washington-state/

  10. ~Happy Earth Day~
    Your photographs of pansies are amazing! You certainly picked the right quote to go with your images.
    Joyce M

  11. Sue

    I so adore pansies,and have planted some, But I have never seen such beautiful colors before, I must look for these varieties next time. I love your story and I will look at pansies in a very different light from now own, very delightful!
    Blessings,
    Sue

  12. Edie

    My Dearest Debbykay~
    Oh how I miss Grandmothers loving ways.. However, you express many of her loving ways… Which makes me a very lucky sister!

    With so much talent that is expressed on each of these blogs!

    I am having an amazing day now!
    Love,
    Edie

  13. The pansies are beautiful and so is your porch. Here in the South, we plant pansies in November and they last through the winter and into April and May.

  14. Mid-Atlantic Martha

    Oh your flowers are just beautiful! I love their little faces.

  15. Dearest Debbykay,

    I enjoyed your beautiful post so very much! My visits with you are always a delight, and fills my heart with peace and joy! Oh, you have such precious memories treasured up in your heart of your beloved grandmother. I was touched by your beautifully written words, and the gorgeous photos of your pansies! What wonderful colors and cheerful faces. They are one of my favorite flowers. As you so lovingly said, “they were all dressed out in their finest in celebration of their Creator!” How true!

    Your Rose Cottage is such a beautiful place. I am so very glad that you share it! I love the arrangement of the pansies surrounding the bulbs, and the glimpse of your lovely wicker furniture. I am sure you and your dear ones enjoy many happy talks and treats together in that flower filled sitting area! I know that you are passing on the gift of happiness and love into your son, daughter and her husband as they plant their own gardens. What a blessing that is! (What a blessing you are!) I hope to do the very same for my sweet son!

    I truly enjoyed my time at your Rose Cottage, as I always do, and I enjoyed admiring the sweet, happy pansy faces. I would love to have a cup of tea with you on your lovely porch! Thank you for your sweet and heart-felt comments that have blessed, encouraged and brought me joy! Your kindness and care have touched my heart! Thank you dear one!

    I wish you a very lovely day and many blessings! You are a treasure!
    Your friend, Paula

  16. Mom

    I’ve come to Rose Cottage to enjoy a cup of tea and sit with you on the porch sharing what is beautiful in our lives. But you are not here….so I leave this lovely bouquet of pansies so that you will know that I am thinking about you.

  17. Beautiful post and beautiful flowers. They are all so lovely and happy looking.

    The earth laughs in flowers as they say

  18. A very beautiful post and flowers! So… sweet!

  19. I would love to share a cup of tea with you! I like orange spice tea, please. I’ll tell you about my own grandmother’s flowers and my memories of visiting her. She had the softest bed with the freshest linens and quilts on them. Would you believe she had to warm water for me and my sister to take a bath in a wash tub? It was so primitive in the woods of Alabama back in the late ’50s. Thanks for the tea and the pansies. They are gorgeous.

  20. Francesco

    Debbykay,

    Thank you for sharing your memories of your sweet Grandmother and her sharing with you the joys and treasures of gardening and insights to life.

    You sweet memories bring tears to my eyes.

    Bless you,

  21. Pansy, Sweet Peas, Snapdragons all sweet little flowers that belong in all flower gardens. Your pictures show how sweet the happy pansy faces are. I love these flowers. I even knew a lady who name was Pansy. (interesting ,I thought because she is the only one I have ever heard called that name)

  22. Debby Kay, What a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing this wonderful memory of your dear Grandmother. My love of gardening was nurtured by my Mother and my Aunt Stella…..two women who were as lovely as the gardens they tended. My granddaughter, who I call “sweet pea,” loves spending time with me in the garden. Pansies just happen to be one of our favorite flowers…..your photos were amazing.

    Kay

  23. rebekahp

    What beautiful, happy blooms and a sweet, sweet story about great grandma!

    The pansy’s are obviously very happy to be on your porch! I especially love the ruffles!

    Love!

  24. Your one and only son

    Mom your pictures turned out great!!
    It makes me want to go and get a whole bunch of them and plant them all over my yard!!

  25. I do indeed believe ‘the earth laughs in flowers’ and the leaves of the trees rustle in the breezes while they sing their praises to God. I think pansies are such happy flowers, don’t you?
    How I enjoyed your post today! Simply charming! Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful, bloom-scented day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  26. What a beautiful post. Beautiful flowers and beautiful memories of your grandmother.

  27. Your happy pansies and sweet sentiments are just lovely.

    Please stop by and enter my 200th post giveaway.

  28. Two years ago I had surprise pansies grow up through the cracks between the bricks in the back patio. I wouldn’t let hubby pull or get rid of them, they were such a sweet surprise.
    So last year I put pansies and violas in my window boxes and front urns last year and plan on doing so again this year. I went with all purples last year, but I’m adoring your soft peaches…

  29. These are absolutely beautiful!

  30. All I can say is “Wow, What a beautiful post!” Your pictures of the pansies are just amazing…What a great story too…
    STephenie

  31. Sorry I am late getting around to visit… I hope you had a Happy Outdoor Wednesday….and that you will participate again soon! Thanks for sharing your photos.~ Susan

  32. What beauuuuuutiful pansies!!! They are truly one of my very FAVE flowers. Your photos and little stories are so sweet. Hope you are enjoying your day.

    xo Heather

    p.s.- wanted to say thanks for your sweet comment on my paper doll journal post… ;)))

  33. Steph Beedle

    How lovely! Your busy life never cease to amaze me, you always find time to make your world a little more romantic and beautiful!

  34. Lois

    Dear DebbyKay –

    It is wonderful the way you share the beauty of your flowers – and the thoughts from your heart!
    Thank you so much for inviting me into your special place in this world.

    Wishing you a beautiful day….

    Lois

  35. oh i LOVE those pink and peach pansies! i would love some seeds from those. i’ve been looking for them everywhere, but they’re hard to find here in vancouver. maybe it’s just the season. i love the blog and will add it to my list of places to visit! great crafts and recipes.

    anything rose is alright with me!

  36. Pingback: Gorgeous Greens {lightly dressed « rose cottage gardens and farm

Leave a Reply

