Daily Archives: March 17, 2009

Home Alone

“Haven’t you ever wondered what I did while alone?”

Mom or Dad: do you have a son or daughter that you sent off to travel the far corners of the earth or to pursue studies at college? If so, you know what it is like to wonder {read: worry!} what your son or daughter is doing and if he or she is OK. Each day, you pray your “child” is safe, makes good decisions and remembers all your pearls of wisdom! Right?!

Today, I receive an email from my very best boy–a senior at college living away from home. The subject line says: “Haven’t you ever wondered what I did while alone?” Immediately, my heart starts to palpitate. I pause for a second or two before opening the email. I finally find out one thing that my very best boy does after his studies are done! This is what he writes:

“Now you know,
 
This is what happens when I am left alone…”
Rolling out homemade cinnamon roll dough

Rolling out made-from-scratch cinnamon roll dough

 

Cutting dough into rolls

Cutting dough into rolls

 

Cinnamon rolls on cooling racks

Cinnamon rolls on cooling racks

 

"It is only good when it is fresh!"

"It is only good when it is fresh!"

 

A perfectfully executed work of art!

A perfectfully executed work of art!

 So what am I worried about?!

st-patricks-day-woman-rose-pc3

13 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Family, Uncategorized